x628

Not to be outdone by Phillip, Adi sent this photo of him sailing Extra 628 with our father, opposite our house at Stilbaai. The road bridge over the Goukou is straight in front.

I spent alot of time on that Extra. It is an outstanding dinghy, designed by Herbert McWilliams for the Cape Southeaster, she is an incredibly seaworthy boat. She can be sailed one or two up. Originally designed for plywood construction, this one was built in GRP, which made her slightly heavier than a racing version. I sailed this boat all over Stilbaai, in the river, the mouth and the sea. With both a main and a jib, she is a bit of handful for singlehanding, but very rewarding if you get it right.

I think that I took this photo from a rowing boat – I would like to blame the poor contrast on the scanning, but must admit that I was a general problem that I had with the camera I was using at the time.

