I went to the Cape Town Boat Show with the intention of buying nothing but some varnish, but came away with varnish and a sextant. I have wanted to own a sextant since I was about 12 years old and saw a picture of Robin Knox-Johnson using one during his single-handed trip around the world. Of course I also wanted to do the round the world trip as well! At the boat show I walked past a stall selling nautical artifacts and they had two Navistar sextants on display. When I heard the price I knew that this was an opportunity that I could not resist. After getting some advice from those who know about these things, I was convinced and took the plunge.

I have since managed to take a few sights, but am still learning how to use it properly. This is a picture of it in its box:

Sextant

I managed to get a copy of the manual for the sextant and after searching the net for a copy, which I could not find, decided to post it here. I presume that the manual is copyright C. Plath or their successors. I apologise if I am breaking your copyright, please contact me via a comment if you have a legal problem with this.

These are scans of a copy of the manual (click on the images to see them full screen):

Classic Cover

Page1a

Page 2index

Page1

Page2

Page3

Page4

Page5

Page6

Page7

Page8

Page9

Page10

Page11

Page12

Page13

Page14

Page15

Page16

Page17

Page18

Page19

Page20

Page21

\Page22

